portadasedlac

About SEDLAC

This web site includes statistics on poverty and other distributional and social variables from all Latin American and several Caribbean (LAC) countries. All statistics are computed from microdata from major household surveys carried out in these countries using a homogenous methodology (data permitting). Statistics are updated periodically.

SEDLAC allows users to monitor trends in poverty and other distributional and social indicators in the region. The dataset is available as Excel tables with information for each country/year, accompanied by graphs, maps, and reports.

SEDLAC is an ongoing project. We are grateful to all comments and suggestions for improving the database.

The Center for Distributional, Labor and Social Studies (CEDLAS) of the Universidad Nacional de La Plata, in partnership with World Bank’s Poverty and Equity Group, have developed the Socio-Economic Database for Latin America and the Caribbean (SEDLAC) with the purpose of improving the timely access to key socio-economic statistics, including indicators on poverty, inequality, income, employment, access to services, education, health, housing, social programs, and numerous demographics.

SEDLAC has initially benefited from the Program for the Improvement of Surveys and the Measurement of Living Conditions in Latin America and the Caribbean (MECOVI), which contributed to the improvement of the multipurpose household surveys in the LAC region. The World Bank Team for Statistical Development provides the databases used in SEDLAC.

SEDLAC is continually updated and improved based on the feedback from users. Please write us at sedlac@cedlas.org. Consistency checks with other national or international sources of socio-economic statistics are conducted regularly.

Through its support for this project, CEDLAS-FCE-UNLP and the World Bank facilitate policy relevant research, contribute to the development of the region´s analytical capacity, and promote research that contributes to the reduction of poverty and inequality in Latin America and the Caribbean.

The SEDLAC team is grateful to statistical institutes from all countries represented in the database for providing access to household survey microdata.

Unless otherwise noted, the estimated indicators are not official estimates of the countries or The World Bank.

SEDLAC es un proyecto conjunto de CEDLAS-UNLP y del Grupo de Pobreza y Equidad del Banco Mundial.

El equipo de CEDLAS es dirigido por Leopoldo Tornarolli y Leonardo Gasparini, y comprende el siguiente grupo de investigadores de CEDLAS a cargo de procesar y analizar las encuestas nacionales:

Argentina
Leopoldo Tornarolli
ltornarolli@cedlas.org

Bahamas
Leopoldo Tornarolli
ltornarolli@cedlas.org

Belice
Santiago Garganta
sgarganta@cedlas.org

Bolivia
Mariana Viollaz
mviollaz@cedlas.org

Brazil
Leopoldo Tornarolli
ltornarolli@cedlas.org

Colombia
Carolina García Domench
cgarcia@cedlas.org
Laura Carella
lcarella@cedlas.org

Costa Rica
Pablo Glüzmann
pgluzmann@cedlas.org

Chile
Joaquín Serrano
jserrano@cedlas.org

Ecuador
María Isabel Egas
megas@cedlas.org

El Salvador
Ana Pacheco
apacheco@cedlas.org

Guatemala
Carolina García Domench
cgarcia@cedlas.org

Guyana
Leopoldo Tornarolli
ltornarolli@cedlas.org

Haiti
Leopoldo Tornarolli
ltornarolli@cedlas.org

Honduras
Santiago Garganta
sgarganta@cedlas.com

Jamaica
Leopoldo Tornarolli
ltornarolli@cedlas.org

México
Carolina García Domench
cgarcia@cedlas.org

Nicaragua
Malena Arcidiácono
marcidiacono@cedlas.org

Panama
Santiago Garganta
sgarganta@cedlas.org

Paraguay
Leopoldo Tornarolli
ltornarolli@cedlas.org

Peru
Emmanuel Vazquez
evazquez@cedlas.org

Dominican Replublic
Luciana Galeano
lgaleano@cedlas.org

Surinam
Mariana Viollaz
mviollaz@cedlas.org

Uruguay
Cecilia Parada
cparada@cedlas.org

Venezuela
Leopoldo Tornarolli
ltornarolli@cedlas.org

DIRECTORS

Leopoldo Tornarolli
ltornarolli@cedlas.org

Leonardo Gasparini
lgasparini@cedlas.org

Watch Dragon ball super